Call Me Hope (Paperback)

Call Me Hope Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Now with a new cover! A heartwrenching and poignant novel about a young girl dealing with verbal abuse perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.

Hope Elliot is struggling to live under the pressures of her verbally abusive mother. But instead of running away, precocious Hope chooses resilience instead, and creates survival strategies for herself.

Her strategies include: a support team that includes the employees of a used clothing store, the smartest kid in the sixth grade, her older brother; and a point system to help deal with her mom. Will Hope find a way to confront her mother and help things change for the better?

About the Author


Gretchen Olson is the author of the YA novel Joyride (Boyds Mill Press) and on the board of directors for The Hands & Words Are Not for Hurting Project. She received the University of Oregon's Community Award for her work with the Hands Project. Gretchen lives with her husband on their blueberry farm in Oregon.

Praise For…


Praise for Call Me Hope:
A Borders Original Voices selection
A Book Sense Pick

"Hope is a winsome character whose bravery and determination will resonate with middle-grade readers." -- Booklist

"Children who can identify with Hope's predicament will find solace in this book as well as tips for survival." -- Publishers Weekly

"A compelling and rewarding read."--School Library Journal

"The resilience of Hope Elliot will inspire and console readers of all ages."--VOYA

Praise for Joyride:
A Booklist Top Ten Notable Book
Society of School Librarians International Honor Book
Oregon Book Award finalist

"Olson knows how to keep readers turning the pages."
-Kirkus—-
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316012393
ISBN-10: 0316012394
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 1st, 2008
Pages: 288
Language: English