David Inside Out (Hardcover)

David Inside Out Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Summer 2009 Kids' List


“This teen novel follows high school runner David as he comes to grips with his attraction to other guys. His confusion pulls him between old friendships and a new relationship that's exciting but lacking honesty and respect. David's dilemma is note-perfect, and Bantle's writing will appeal to readers of Brian Malloy's The Year of Ice, Bill Konigsberg's Out of the Pocket, and Brent Hartinger's Geography Club.”
— Mark David Bradshaw, Watermark Books, Wichita, KS

Description


David Dahlgren, a high-school senior, finds solace in running with the track team; he's a fast runner, and he enjoys the camaraderie. But team events become a source of tension when he develops a crush on one of his teammates, Sean. Scared to admit his feelings, David does everything he can to suppress them: he dates a girl, keeps his distance from his best friend who has become openly gay, and snaps a rubber band on his wrist every time he has "inappropriate" urges. Before long, Sean expresses the thoughts David has been trying to hide, and everything changes for the better. Or so it seems.

In this thoughtful yet searing coming-of-age novel, Lee Bantle offers a raw, honest, and incredibly compelling account of a teenager who learns to accept himself for who he is.

About the Author


LEE BANTLE is the author of the middle-grade novel "Diving for the Moon." He is an attorney and lives in New York City.

Praise For…


Praise for David Inside Out:

“The writing is meaty and full of well-conceived characterizations, believable plot devices and plenty of wisdom for teens trying to understand themselves.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Bantle describes the teen’s emotional roller coaster in such an open and honest manner that readers will feel everything from his anguish to his elation. While this book will have wide appeal due to its universal themes of first love and the search for one’s identity, it will be especially intriguing to readers who are struggling with their own sexuality. They will be able to understand and relate to David and his quest for self-discovery”—School Library Journal

“Bantle’s writing is crisp and spare, with no sentimentality or long-winded introspection; his second novel is a refreshing contribution to the “coming out” genre and a powerful example of an honest teen voice.”—The Horn Book Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9780805081220
ISBN-10: 0805081224
Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Publication Date: May 12th, 2009
Pages: 184
Language: English