Dead Silence (Hardcover)

Dead Silence Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Titanic meets The Shining in S.A. Barnes’ Dead Silence, a SF horror novel in which a woman and her crew board a decades-lost luxury cruiser and find the wreckage of a nightmare that hasn't yet ended.

A GHOST SHIP.
A SALVAGE CREW.
UNSPEAKABLE HORRORS.

Claire Kovalik is days away from being unemployed—made obsolete—when her beacon repair crew picks up a strange distress signal. With nothing to lose and no desire to return to Earth, Claire and her team decide to investigate.

What they find at the other end of the signal is a shock: the Aurora, a famous luxury space-liner that vanished on its maiden tour of the solar system more than twenty years ago. A salvage claim like this could set Claire and her crew up for life. But a quick trip through the Aurora reveals something isn’t right.

Whispers in the dark. Flickers of movement. Words scrawled in blood. Claire must fight to hold onto her sanity and find out what really happened on the Aurora, before she and her crew meet the same ghastly fate.

About the Author


S.A. BARNES works in a high school library by day, recommending reads, talking with students, and removing the occasional forgotten cheese-stick-as-bookmark. The author has published numerous novels across different genres. Barnes lives in Illinois with more dogs and books than is advisable and a very patient spouse.

Praise For…


"This story slides and slithers from creepy and atmospheric to skin-crawling, edge-of-your-seat terror." —T. Kingfisher, author of The Hollow Places

"At the intersection of science fiction and horror, Dead Silence is the ultimate haunted house story." —Alma Katsu, author of The Deep and The Hunger

“Dead Silence gives you the suffocating claustrophobia of 2001: A Space Odyssey mixed with the horrors of Alien. I couldn't stop reading.” —Mur Lafferty, Hugo Award-Winning author of Six Wakes

"Creepy and satisfying; I'll be checking under my bed tonight." —Sarah Pinsker, author of the Nebula Award winning A Song For A New Day

"The richly realized world that S.A. Barnes creates draws us in, and the relatable characters charm us. The dread mounts to a powerful conclusion." —David Wellington, author of The Last Astronaut

"Stomach-turning, sinister space horror perfect for fans of Alien and Event Horizon." —Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"I've always considered Alien the high mark of sci-fi horror. No longer. Dead Silence leaves it in the dust." —Lisa Shearin, New York Times bestselling author

"Dead Silence will keep you awake at night....Expertly paced, this novel is full of old ghosts in every way possible, and will haunt you long after the last page." —Laurie Faria Stolarz, author of Jane Anonymous

"I was turning pages long into the night, and the bags under my eyes are well worth it!" —Rachel Vincent, New York Times bestselling author of Red Wolf

"Compulsive reading at its best. A sci-fi horror so expertly delivered you'll be peeking through your fingers until the last page!" —Melissa Landers, author of the Alienated and Starflight series

“Barnes plays nicely on human fears of both madness and of ghosts, carefully blurring the line between science fiction and horror... Those with a taste for blending genres will enjoy this combo.” —Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250819994
ISBN-10: 1250819997
Publisher: Tor Nightfire
Publication Date: January 25th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English