Speechless (Paperback)

Speechless Cover Image
By Peter Haillay (Illustrator), Kate Darbishire
Email or call for price.
Backordered

Description


She can't walk. She can't even talk. But she has so much to tell you...Eleven year old Harriet has Cerebral Palsy. At her new Secondary School, she is bullied and ridiculed every day and she doesn't know how to make friends.Charlotte tries - but how do you talk to someone who won't talk back?When Harriet's mum is rushed into hospital, her Grandmother, Gloria has far more important things to worry about than Harriet. Like whether her nail polish matches her outfit.Jake, Harriet's brother, starts skipping school and acting weird. Harriet can see he's in danger but what can she do?Harriet is plucky and resilient but is she brave enough to face up to her challenges?Whether you are ten or one hundred and ten, Speechless is a brutally frank, debut novel to read in one sitting and pass on to your friends. Its powerful message will stay with you long after you turn the final page.Perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder and Sharon M. Draper's Out of My Mind.

Kate Darbishire has a daughter with Cerebral Palsy and has worked in Special Needs Schools for nearly ten years.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781723876592
ISBN-10: 1723876593
Publisher: Independently Published
Publication Date: September 26th, 2018
Pages: 220
Language: English