Daytime Book Club

All of our book clubs are meeting virtually via Zoom. Please reach out for more information.

Meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month. New members are always welcome!


Book Cover, Curious Toys by Elizabeth HandWednesday, October 14th at 12:30pm

 

Curious Toys by Elizabeth Hand

 

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike" (Sarah McCarry).

 

In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble.

 

Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses the shadows of the dark carnival attractions to conduct his crimes. When Pin sees a man enter the Hell Gate ride with a young girl, and emerge alone, she knows that something horrific has occurred.

 

The crime will lead her to the iconic outsider artist Henry Darger, a brilliant but seemingly mad man. Together, the two navigate the seedy underbelly of a changing city to uncover a murderer few even know to look for.

 

 

Daytime Book Club 2020 Book List
April- Becoming by Michelle Obama
May- A Woman of No Importance- The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II by Sonia Purnell
June- The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell
July- This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger
August- Maybe You Should Talk to Someone- A Therapist, Her Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed by Lori Gottlieb
September- Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini
October- Curious Toys by Elizabeth Hand
November- Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes
December - Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Daytime Book Club 2021 Book List
January - When We Believed Mermaids by Barbara O'Neal
February - Moment of Lift by Melinda Gates

 



Book Links:

 

Curious Toys Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316485913
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mulholland Books - September 29th, 2020